Richard Devlin Chair Oregon

> **Ted Ferrioli** Oregon

Guy Norman Washington

Patrick Oshie Washington



Bo Downen Vice Chair Montana

Jennifer Anders Montana

> Jim Yost Idaho

Jeffery C. Allen

July 7, 2020

DECISION MEMORANDUM

TO: Council Members

FROM: Ben Kujala, Power Division Director

SUBJECT: Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee Membership

PROPOSED ACTION: Staff recommends the Council approve the proposed membership for the Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee

SIGNIFICANCE: The Power Act authorizes the Council to establish such voluntary advisory committees as it determines are necessary or appropriate to assist in its development of the regional power plan and in carrying out its other functions and responsibilities. The Council relies on the Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee for technical expertise in developing and implementing its regional power plan.

BUDGETARY/ECONOMIC IMPACTS

None.

BACKGROUND AND ANALYSIS

Committee membership is reviewed every two years following charter renewal, and the Council renewed the Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee (RAAC) charter at its June 2020 Council meeting. The RAAC is comprised of a technical committee and a steering committee, with each having one co-chair from the Council and one co-chair from the Bonneville Power Administration. Per the terms of its charter, the co-chairs of the RAAC's technical and steering committees, in consultation with the Director of the Power Planning and the Council's Executive Director, must solicit experts to participate in the RAAC committees, with the Council responsible for ultimately approving the participants of each RAAC committee. Over the past few months, significant outreach has occurred to a wide range of regional stakeholders to develop the proposed committee participants. The proposed steering committee members were selected for their policy expertise or experience, and the technical committee members were

selected for their technical skills or experience, while also ensuring that membership of the advisory committee is fairly balanced in terms of points of view represented and the functions to be performed. The RAAC co-chairs have reviewed and support the proposed participants for each committee.

ALTERNATIVE

The Council could propose additional or different participants for each committee, which would require additional coordination with potential participants before proceeding.

ATTACHMENT

Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee membership list

NW Power and Conservation Council

Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee Steering Committee Members June 29, 2020

Name	Affiliation	
Co-chairs		
Richard Devlin	NW Power and Conservation Council	
Rob Petty	Bonneville Power Administration	
Investor Owned Utilities		
James Gall	Avista	
Jared Hansen	Idaho Power	
Benjamin Fitch-Fleischmann	Northwestern Energy	
Shayleah, LaBray	PacifiCorp	
Brett Sims	Portland General Electric	
Elizabeth Hossner	Puget Sound Energy	
Public Utilities		
Becky King	Chelan	
Tom Haymaker	Clark	
Gary Huhta	Cowlitz	
Will Price	Eugene Water and Electric Board	
Kevin Nordt	Grant	
Aliza Seelig	Seattle City Light	
Anna Berg	Snohomish	
Rachel Clark	Tacoma	
State Agencies/other interested parties		
Kristine Raper	Idaho Commission Staff	
John Chatburn	Idaho Office of Energy Resources	
Paul Schutz	Montana Consumer Counsel	
Tom Kaiserski	Montana Department of Commerce	

Wendy Gerlitz	NW Energy Coalition
Spencer Gray	NW & Intermountain Power Producers Coalition
Megan Stratman	NW Requirements Utilities
Matt Muldoon	Oregon Utility Commission Staff
Adam Schultz	Oregon Department of Energy
Greg Mendonca	PNGC Power
Shauna McReynolds	PNW Utility Conference Committee (PNUCC)
Lea Fisher	Public Generating Pool
Aaron Bush	Public Power Council
Sashwat Roy	Renewable NW Project
Elizabeth Osborne	Washington Energy Office
Nicolas Garcia	Washington Public Utility Districts Association
Steve Johnson	Washington Utility Commission Staff

NW Power and Conservation Council

Resource Adequacy Advisory Committee Technical Committee Members

Name	Affiliation	
Co-chairs		
John Fazio	NW Power and Conservation Council	
Rob Diffely	Bonneville Power Administration	
Investor Owned Utilities		
James Gall	Avista	
Ian McGetrick	Idaho Power	
Benjamin Fitch-Fleischmann	Northwestern Energy	
Elaine Prause	PacifiCorp	
Jimmy Lindsay	Portland General Electric	
Zhi Chen	Puget Sound Energy	
Public Utilities		
Becky King	Chelan	
Tom Haymaker	Clark	
Gary Huhta	Cowlitz	
Ben Ulrich	Eugene Water and Electric Board	
Rod Noteboom	Grant	
Villamor Gamponia	Seattle City Light	
Anna Berg	Snohomish	
Ahlmahz Negash	Tacoma	
State Agencies/other interested parties		
Kristine Raper	Idaho Commission Staff	
John Chatburn	Idaho Office of Energy Resources	
Jaime Stamatson	Montana Consumer Counsel	
Tom Kaiserski	Montana Department of Commerce	

Fred Heutte	NW Energy Coalition
Spencer Gray	NW & Intermountain Power Producers Coalition
Megan Stratman	NW Requirements Utilities
Matt Muldoon	Oregon Utility Commission Staff
Adam Schultz	Oregon Department of Energy
Greg Mendonca	PNGC Power
Tomas Morrissey	PNW Utility Conference Committee (PNUCC)
Lea Fisher	Public Generating Pool
Aaron Bush	Public Power Council
Sashwat Roy	Renewable NW Project
Glenn Blackmon	Washington Energy Office
Nicolas Garcia	Washington Public Utility Districts Association
Steve Johnson	Washington Utility Commission Staff